Link: Chris Unitt – The Page 56 Meme

Chris Unitt » Blog Archive » The Page 56 Meme – I like books, so was attracted to this meme when I came across it on Chris Unitt’s blog. Chris got it from Russ L’s blog. Here are the rules:

  1. Grab the nearest book
  2. Open it to page 56
  3. Find the fifth sentence
  4. Post the text of the sentence along with these instructions
  5. Don?t dig for your favourite book, the coolest book, or the most intellectual one: pick the CLOSEST

The closest to me is Will Buckingham’s Cargo Fever, which I read ages ago so I’m not sure why it’s on my coffee table. Maybe I was thinking about lending it to someone. It’s a great novel about a highly sexed yeti-type creature romping his way through Kenukecil. Anyway, fifth sentence on page 56 is:

cargofever

NOTHING. Page 56 is blank. I swear I’m not making this up. I stuck strictly to the rules of the meme and this is what happens.

It’s a well good book though.  The pages with typing on are great.

1 Comment »

  1. Russ L said

    Heh heh heh. This is definitely the best one of these I’ve seen yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

